Our tour to Switzerland and Italy – Part 1

It has been a long time since my last blog. Today I am going to start a blog posts series to describe the wonderful experience I got in Switzerland and Italy. Hope you enjoy them and the photos of course!

Before the trip begins…

For the Final Year Project (FYP) I and my teammates did, we wrote two research papers. You can find more about our FYP via my blog posts series here. We got this wonderful and rare opportunity to publish one of our papers at the International Conference on Computational Science (ICCS) 2017 which was held in Switzerland. I called this a rare opportunity because we were the only team with four undergraduates (because I am officially graduating in October) where all the other authors were (I assume) postgraduate students and/or professors, lecturers etc. And of course, the conference is an A-grade conference with an h-index of 37!

Anyway, so we got lucky enough to get our paper published in ICCS-2017. You can access the full paper here. This opened the doors for us to have a trip to Switzerland! We were really excited and had to go through a very tough process to organise the journey. However we were able to obtain the Visa within 2 working days. With the dates set and the trip planned, I began to pack my things and to say hello to Zürich.

On the way…

Our flight was on 9th June at 9.10 PM from the Bandaranaike International Airport in Sri Lanka. We chose Etihad for this journey (which I never regret). All things were set and the luggage was packed and I got a bad fever in the last minute! This is I think a flight-phobia or any other phobia because I was travelling abroad for the first time in my life and I was travelling with three boys! 😛 However, with appropriate medicine and blessings from my parents and relatives, I came to the airport and successfully boarded the flight for my first international tour!

WhatsApp Image 2017-07-03 at 3.14.22 PM

Travelling by plane was always a phobia for me because I thought there is a high chance for a plane to get crashed. At the take-off and some situations when the plane began to tilt, this phobia got doubled. However, I survived my first plane ride. It was a totally new experience for me. I didn’t know how’s and what’s on board and the air hosts and hostesses did a good job in assisting the passengers. Food served was good and the cabin crew was friendly.

The first transit was in Abu Dhabi. We had enough time and two of the boys decided to roam within the airport while I myself retired happily on a very comfortable chair. Then we boarded the next flight to Zürich at 2.20 AM. When we were flying over Switzerland I saw a magnificent view (because I booked a window seat of course) of the country. It was all green and clean. See the attached photo though it might not be that much clear.

WhatsApp Image 2017-07-03 at 3.17.06 PM

We landed in Zürich 10 minutes before the schedule and went through the immigration process and cleared our luggage. Then we said hello to Zürich! 🙂

WhatsApp Image 2017-07-03 at 3.17.30 PM

You can find out more about our trip from my future posts. Stay tuned and follow the blog for more updates. Hope you enjoyed this! 🙂

One thought on “Our tour to Switzerland and Italy – Part 1

Leave a Reply

